Wednesday, July 23, 2008



Tanner at has tipped us several times to The british entertainment company Network TV and their collections of ‘60s and ‘70s British TV crime/spy series on DVD (mostly from the vaults of the ITC channel). Tanner has also covered Network’s fantastic CD collections of sountracks from some of the same series.

In the past Network has successfully released soundtrack collections for The Prisoner, Randall & Hopkirk, Deceased, and Man In A Suitcase (the seminal, gritty spy series of the ‘60s and a forrunner to today’s top spy show, Burn Notice). The latter collection consists of 5 CD and over 300 pieces of music.

Now, Tanner tips us to Network’s latest classic ITC soundtrack. This time the wonderful Department S (the first Jason King series – not extremely well know in the US) gets the Network treatment.

According to
Network's website:

Never previously released and compiled from the original master tapes, this three-CD set comprises Edwin Astley’s celebrated music for Department S, containing over 180 pieces which were specially commissioned for the series. Including extensive liner notes from archive television historian Andrew Pixley, this set is an essential purchase for all ITC aficionados.

Right now, it's available exclusively from Network's website, but absolutely worth checking out. These collections are awesome and must haves for true soundtrack fans. as this is here's hoping that Network's next project is Ken Thorne's Persuaders scores!

Future releases scheduled from Network include The Saint and The Champions – and Tanner is hoping for a definitive music collection from The Pursuaders.

1 comment:

The King Of Cool said...

This is awesome. I've always been a fan of British entertainment, especially all the great spy, etc. shows they did back in the 60's.